The EU has passed a law that will mean all cars sold after 2035 must be zero-emission.

Germany was granted an exemption for cars running on e-fuels, although e-fuels are not currently produced at scale.

The new law will also require all new cars sold to have 55% lower CO2 emissions from 2030, compared to 2021 levels.

Poland voted against the law. Italy, Bulgaria and Romania abstained.

In late 2020 the UK government banned the sale of new petrol and diesel cars after 2030, which was a decade earlier than previously announced.

The move was announced as part of a 10-point plan to deliver a Green Industrial Revolution for the UK, offering support for 250,000 jobs.

The plan does allow for the sale of some hybrids.